africa · Intentional Living

#AtoZChallenge: Courageous

It’s day three of the A to Z Challenge, and so I’ll be writing about…

Courageous.

Life can easily be living in our comfort zone, doing the things we know. Yeah, sometimes you’ll have to stick our toes out of your comfort zone…your first day of high school, your first night with your roommate at college, or the first day at a new job. But we can live like almost entirely in our comfort zone, and be happy. So what’s the benefit of stepping out of our comfort zones.

What’s the benefit of being courageous? <–Tweet this!

Let’s be honest, there usually a whole lot of awkwardness and uncertainty involved, and an abnormally high risk of failure. We make ourselves vulnerable to embarrassment and humiliation. So why would anyone in their right mind step out, be courageous, and take that first step out of their comfort zone?

The times I have found the courage to step out of what I knew and embrace something entirely new have been incredible, transformative learning experiences. I have met new people, befriend some unlikely friends, and found family around the world through people that have opened their hearts and homes to me. If I hadn’t been courageous, I wouldn’t be the same person I am today.

My Peace Corps host family.
My Peace Corps host family.

I wouldn’t speak Spanish. I wouldn’t have a passion for heirloom gardening. I wouldn’t understand poverty and food security on a personal level. I wouldn’t have ridden an ostrich. I wouldn’t have fallen in love with DC. I wouldn’t have a passion for missions.

Riding an ostrich...sorry it's grainy, but do you know how fast they run?!
Riding an ostrich…sorry it’s grainy, but do you know how fast they run?!

I wouldn’t be who I am today.

Being courageous doesn’t only happen with big, life altering things. So I challenge you (and myself) to find a way to be courageous today. Maybe it’s helping out an elderly person who is grocery shopping and needs help reaching that top shelf. Maybe it’s paying for coffee for the person behind you. Maybe it’s giving a smile or an encouraging word to someone who needs it. Maybe it’s applying for a new job, starting your own business, or joining the Peace Corps (which I can tall you is pretty amazing). I don’t know what your courageous decision is today, but I’d love for you to leave a comment describing it.

Live courageously. <– Tweet this!

And, lastly, I’ll leave you with a video of the Casting Crowns song, Courageous.

-Jen

6 thoughts on “#AtoZChallenge: Courageous

  1. I just had a discussion about risk-taking with my prayer partner yesterday! We talked about how God gives us passion, tools, and opportunity to do His will, but ultimately, we have to make the choice to take that step. Thanks for your thoughts!

    1. It’s really scary to jump off the ledge (I was looking for pictures from when I bungee jumped, but couldn’t find them quickly), but once you take that step, it’s all in God’s hand. It’s a lot easier to do it when you know Someone has your back!

    1. It was terrifying, but I’m SO glad I did it (even though I screamed the entire time). Comfort zones are…comfy…but everyone is courageous in their own right, in big ways and in small!! Sometimes just clicking that “publish post” button is courageous!

Leave a Reply

