Uncategorized

#AtoZChallenge: Blessed

Welcome, friends. Have a seat and join me today, on this second day of the #AtoZChallenge. There’s something important I want to tell you today:

I am blessed.  <–Click to Tweet.

On those difficult days, when life gets me down and I just want to go burrow in my blankets and escape into a good book….we all have these days….sometimes I remember to stop for a minute and think about one or two blessings. I don’t always remember to do this, but sometimes I think of just one or two blessings. And I breathe a prayer of thanks.

Image

Then suddenly another one pops into my head, and another. Maybe it’s a ridiculously simple blessing that I never wouldn’t have thought of before my Peace Corps service, like that I have a flush toilet. A shadow of a smile crosses my lips, and I think of another one.

Suddenly a flood of memories takes over, reminding me of the many blessings in my life, past and present. And I can’t stop thinking of one blessing after another.

Image

And then my mood shifts, and instead of becoming overwhelmed with my current situation, I am overwhelmed with how truly blessed I am. Yes, life can be difficult, but there are always blessings to be found. Maybe it’s as simple as being able to flip a light switch and know the lights will turn on, a beautiful sunrise, freshly laundered sheets, sweet dogs who rush to give me love, or a still, quiet moment in a hectic day to pause and reflect.

A down day can be turned right-side up if we pause and moment and think about just one or two blessings in our lives. Who knows where that might lead?

How are you blessed today?

-Jen

13 thoughts on “#AtoZChallenge: Blessed

  1. This is so true! Also it’s something I need to work on more. When I’m feeling overwhelmed I definitely choose to escape into a book or movie rather than face it a lot of times. I’ll try this next time and see if I can turn my day right side up. 😀 Thank you!

  2. The world is a beautiful place and yet it so easy to forget how blessed we are. I can complain and feel down about things, but when I think about it, my life isn’t that bad. I have my health and my family, a job, a home, food. I have so much more than a lot of people, so that is why I am blessed 🙂

    Rebeccah Writes – A-Z 2014

  3. I love how you transition from A where you admitted how hard acceptance can be to today, recognizing how Blessed you are! Even though your journey may be difficult, it’s encouraging that you can still see the positive. 🙂 Keep on keeping on!

    1. You know, I just googled how to do it this week. Just go to a website called “click to tweet” and it will make up a link for you to insert in your blog. Cool, huh?

  4. So very true. It’s amazing how easily we can change our emotional state through a little conscious consideration of reasons to be grateful. (We do it well enough with unconscious focus on the negative, right?)
    Stopped by for the A-Z. I liked what you had to say.

    1. So true how we do it with the negative! I guess we just have to retrain out response to the difficult times in life! Thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

