Five Minute Friday

Five Minute Friday: Crowd

It’s that time of week again, Five Minute Friday time. You know, when hundreds of bloggers gather together to write on one word, unscripted, for five minutes only. To join in on the fun, check out Lisa-Jo Baker’s blog.

Today’s word is:

Crowd.

Go.

Crowd…the in-crowd. Standing on the outside looking in.

The stereotypical feeling alone in a crowded room. Having my thoughts, worries, and obsessions crowd out the down-to-earth parts of me.

Worried about fitting into that ever elusive in-crowd.

I felt like this so often growing up. I was a nerd, undeniably so. More awkward than most of my awkward peers, always nervous of saying the wrong thing or making the wrong move. Painfully aware of my every action around those who weren’t my friends, exacerbating my awkwardness.

Nowadays, I don’t worry about that too much. Usually. My experiences in college and later on living in Africa have changed how I view myself in this world, and fitting in with the cool crowd isn’t important anymore. Most days. But, after all, I’m human, and I’m weak. Some days I let myself feel as if I’m once again standing outside the crowd, looking in hopefully.

I’ll be honest…sometimes I get caught up with this blog, worrying about whether I fit in, whether I’m popular enough, whether I’m in the in-crowd (for once). One glance at my stats tells me I’m not.

But that’s okay. This blog may be written by me, and it may be about my life experiences, but it’s about Him. I don’t need a large following to make an impact. I don’t need any crowd at all. Because these brief passages are as much for me as anyone else. Writing helps me to work out things, flesh out those things that are nudging at my soul, and allows me to see things from a different angle.

It’s a crowded place here, even on the days when it’s just me and Him, communicating through my writing.

Stop.

-Jen

15 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Crowd

  1. Thank you for the reminder that life is truly about Him. When we live for Him, His love flows out of us to others, and it really can be perspective changing. Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us.

    1. I think it’s so natural to want to belong, but sometimes the greatest reward is in stepping away from that, stepping out of our comfort zones, and letting His plan take over.

  2. I, too, grew up feeling like I was standing on the outside looking in. I think so many of us feel that way. But I found my place in life. And I am happy where I am. I think being in the ‘right crowd’ is where we are and we just don’t know it

    Paula at /Smidgen,Snippets,&Bits

    1. I agree, Paula! I’ve also found happiness in where I am, and it’s so much more rewarding than worrying about being part of that in-crowd all the time.

  3. Your post has reminded me this morning that wherever we fit in with the crowd is to reach the ones nearest to us. A blog may not get a lot of views, but what a blessing when it touches the “one” who needed a lifeline that day. Great reminder to focus on what is most important. Blessings!

    1. Thank you, and so true! It doesn’t matter how big the impact our lives have, but what sort of impact we have on those around us. I pray we both remember this as we go about our day today!

  4. I love that you are content with your blog being a vehicle to work things out within yourself. Such a lovely perspective. Thanks for a thoughtful post, one that can help when I wonder what I’m doing this for. Blessings

Leave a Reply

