Faith

Five Minute Friday: Willing

It’s Friday, and time for Five Minute Friday. What’s that, you say? Well, it’s when hundreds of bloggers gather together to write on a common prompt. Five minutes only, freely, without editing. Want to join? Check out Lisa-Jo Baker’s blog for more info!

Today we’re writing on: Willing.

Go.

Waffling back and forth, wondering whether it could be possible. Brows furrowed in intense concentration mixed with worry, I ponder it. Am I willing?

Willing to…

Surrender.

Give up control.

Allow faith to outweigh my worries.

I wonder, is it even possible to do? Through Him, it is.

Friends, I’ve been praying for direction lately, and it always comes back to the same thing. I need to be willing to let it go. He wants to take the reigns, but I must be willing to set them down first.

Talk about difficult. It’s natural to want to take control, but sometimes it’s better not to.

Indecision dances dangerously around me, tempting me to clasp tightly onto my life. Unwilling to give and inch. Fighting against what God’s asking me to do.

In a moment of clarity, I realize. He needs me to do this.

I let the reigns slip slowly from my fingers, uncertain. And in a flash He’s taken them up, and He’s guiding me. Filling me with peace, unexpected and utterly fulfilling.

All He wanted was for me to be willing.

Stop.

-Jen

2 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Willing

  1. Isn’t it amazing how one word can cause us to think so much. I realized this morning how much we must bend our own will in order to become willing. So hard and yet so much to gain in the process. May we both be willing. I visited this morning from FMF. Have a great Friday!

Leave a Reply

