Five Minute Friday

Five Minute Friday: Write

It’s Friday, and that means it’s time for one of my favorite “blog days”! I’ll be joining hundreds of bloggers who are writing together about a common prompt, for five minutes only. And this week, Lisa-Jo Baker is having a giveaway with her FMF link up! So if you haven’t joined in yet, today’s the day!

Today’s prompt is “write“. Oddly enough, I felt this could be a prompt before I even turned my computer on today!

Go.

A pen scratching frantically against a page, or the furious pounding of keyboard keys, trying to capture the ideas inside my head as they flit about. A hopeless task if I’ve ever seen one. Capturing my thoughts on paper has been a struggle my whole life, simply because I can’t write fast enough to get them all down. And today is no exception.

I remember vividly the teachers who coaxed out my writing skills: my second grade teacher who encouraged me to write and illustrate little books. And my fifth grade teachers who allowed me to write several pages in my daily writing journal, instead of just one. But I never felt like a writer.

I never claimed the phrase. It was only for those super smart, elite, fancy writing people, whatever that means. A little girl from middle-of-nowhere Iowa couldn’t claim to be one. No way.

But I continued to write. Essays, research paper, journals, short stories, blog posts, and finally last year, a book. A secret dream of mine that has come fruition. Of course, editing it still in the works.

At some point last year, I realized I had the wrong idea about writing. A writer is someone who loves to write. Who enjoys the sometimes difficult task of committing thought to paper. Who finds themselves piecing together new story lines or ideas in their heads, itching for a piece of paper to write them down. After many years of shying away from it, I started to tell people that I liked to write. That I was a writer.

A writer is someone who is brave enough to write, no matter the medium. And then claims the title.

Stop.

-Jen

6 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Write

    1. Thanks for stopping by! It’s taken me a long time to realize that writing encompasses a whole lot of things…different mediums, different styles, etc. But it finally allowed me to realize that *gasp* I am a writer! 🙂 Thank you for the encouragement!!

  1. My sister’s teachers had to always give her a limit of how much she could write because she was neglecting her other work. Me, on the other hand, loves using words carefully and sparcely.

    1. I’ve always been a little envious of you guys who can write concisely! How do you manage?? I’ve never figured it out…and subsequently, these FMF are a challenge for my long-winded nature!

Leave a Reply

