Five Minute Friday · Intentional Living

Five Minute Friday: See

It’s Friday, which means it’s time for Five Minute Fridays. If you’re new, hundreds of bloggers gather each week to write on a single prompt, for five minutes only. Find out more at Lisa-Jo Baker’s blog and join in on the party!

And now, time to write. Today’s prompt is:

See.

Go.

There’s a dense fog in the winter air, as the sun slowly descends towards the horizon. I’m driving towards home when I crest a hill and nearly gasp at the site before me. A snow-covered field I’ve driven past hundreds of times before, not seeing it any differently than the numerous corn fields in Southern Iowa. But suddenly it’s been transformed into a hauntingly beautiful site.

It’s so easy to ignore beauty in our lives. Our eyes glaze over fascinating details until -BOOM- one day we finally see the ordinary differently. And it becomes extraordinary. This has happened to me more times than I could possibly remember. Perhaps it’s God’s way of gently reminding me how wonderfully He created the world. How truly amazing He has made our world.

It’s so easy to get distracted in our day-to-day lives, but if we take a moment to relax or take a second glance, we can be rewarded with an inspiring sight.

I wish I had my camera yesterday, to capture the utter beauty of that otherwise ordinary field. But on the other hand, part of its beauty is that it was fleeting, never to be seen in quite the same way again.

Stop.

-Jen

5 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: See

  1. Jen, beautifully written! I too have seen things differently after going past hundreds of times. I love your words, “part of its beauty is that it was fleeting, never to be seen in quite the same way again.” Enjoyed connecting via FMF.

Leave a Reply

