Uncategorized

Blessed Be His Name

Life hasn’t been the best lately.  Coming back home from America at the end of September left me in a funk, and several events after that left me second guessing my whole purpose of serving in South Africa for a third year.  Losing funding for almost every project I was recruited to work on was a hard blow, and left me wondering if the Lord really meant for me to be here for another year.

However, lately I’ve been getting small signs that things might just turn out all right in the end-little bits of encouragement here and there.  I came here to fulfill a job description, but that has been put through the shredder and now I’m left picking up the pieces.  It’s hard, but it also gives me the incredible opportunity to restructure my third year of service.  I get to think out of the box and find new solutions to some huge problems at the food security project.  It’s scary, and I’m not sure I can do it.  Lately, I’ve been seriously doubting I can do it.

But I DON’T have to do it alone….I can’t.  I’ve got to learn to trust God through these uncertain times, or else there’s no way I’ll make it.

Yesterday, I was at the food security project, helping with irrigation.  I was listening to some songs on my phone as the sun beat down relentlessly, and some of the lyrics hit me hard.  It’s as if God was reminding me that He’s got everything planned out, and it’s a good plan.

One of the songs that really spoke to me was “Blessed Be Your Name”.  The songs starts our with these two verses:

Blessed Be Your Name
In the land that is plentiful
Where Your streams of abundance flow
Blessed be Your name

Blessed Be Your name
When I’m found in the desert place
Though I walk through the wilderness
Blessed Be Your name

The two verses are two drastically different situations with the end result being the same: Blessing His name.  I came here expecting a land of plenty-my job seemed clearly defined and ample funding to do it was coming in.  Yet the reality ended up being quite different.  Now I’m walking through a wilderness, trying to figure things out.  I have no clue what my life will look like a year from now, and if I’ll have managed to do anything.  However, for now, I will praise Him.  This experience is a blessing, even if it doesn’t come wrapped in pretty paper with a bow on top.

Every blessing You pour out
I’ll turn back to praise
When the darkness closes in, Lord
Still I will say

Blessed be the name of the Lord
Blessed be Your name
Blessed be the name of the Lord
Blessed be Your glorious name

-Jen

Leave a Reply

