Faith · Five Minute Friday

Five Minute Friday: Present

Welcome back to another Five Minute Friday post! If you are new to my blog, you can find out more information about the FMF Party here. But the gist of it is to write for five minutes only, on a common theme. Today’s is “Present”.

Go.
Staying in the present has been almost vital the past few years. Where I am, what I am doing with the Peace Corps means my life is up in the air a lot of the time. The present is a roller coaster ride of emotions and experiences, but an amazing one. However, sometimes I start to wonder….

What’s it all for? I’m still not entirely sure why the Lord has brought me to the Peace Corps, nor why I am spending 3 years of my life in rural Africa. I’ve seen small pieces of His plan, and I’m trusting in it. But sometimes my mind starts to wander from the present. I start to wonder why I am here, and what it will lead to.

It’s so easy for me to start thinking about the future God has planned for me-to guess at where I might be in a year, or twenty. It’s just as easy for me to dwell on the past-the comfort and security of living amongst family and friends, in my own culture. In my comfort zone. Man, some days I miss that.

Even more, it’s dangerously easy to start thinking about what my alternate present might be like: the one where I didn’t join Peace Corps. I can imagine where I would be living, and what I might be doing. Who I might be in a relationship with, and the wonderful small joys of living the American life.

But if I stray from my present, I miss some amazing things. My mind wanders to more comfortable, maybe easier, lives that I could have lived. But when I do that, I miss out on the amazing gift that is the present. The Lord has blessed me with being part of an incredible three years living in Africa, and He’s done it for a reason. He’s showing me about His love for those who are living in poverty, suffering next to the modern (First) world that I grew up in. And I don’t want to miss seeing those things. I don’t want to let my mind wander, because the Lord is teaching me things, right where I am: the present.

Stop.
-Jen

11 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Present

  1. Hi Jen! Visiting from Five Minute Friday. I am the kind of girl who regrets the past, fears the future, and lives in the present like it’s someone else’s life. I’m learning to be more present, but it is hard work!! It’s so much easier to live in your own head.

    1. Thanks for stopping by! Isn’t it amazing that we can try to live in the present, but still be absent from the present because we just keep inside our own heads? Here’s to trying to break that habit!

  2. Thanks for sharing your heart here. The Lord has been teaching me this too, especially with regards to dealing with consequences of sin in my life. It’s easy for me to wish I had never made certain choices, but the Lord has shown me that once I’ve repented, that kind of wishing is fruitless and even wrong. He weaves all of my choices, good and bad, into His redemptive plan, just like He did in David’s life, so I need to embrace my present as His perfect plan for me!
    Thanks for stopping by my blog and commenting! I always appreciate that!

    1. Nobody’s perfect, but God uses both our good and bad to make us into who we are today…I just need to remember to listen to Him more, and to trust! Thanks for stopping by!

  3. Dear Jen
    If you ever feel like a break away in South Africa, I would be honored to have you visit here in Gonubie! After all, you are part of my family!
    Blessings XX
    Mia

  4. Jen – what a beautiful post! Praying that we can all spend a bit more time in the here and now with the small blessings of today 🙂 Happy Friday!

Leave a Reply

