Faith · Intentional Living

Catching Up and Such

It’s been awhile (whoops….), and sorry for falling off the face of the Earth!  One thing after another got me out of the habit of regular posting, but life is settling back into normal here, and so will my writing.

 

Over the past several weeks, my Dad came to visit for several days, which certainly distracted me from writing.  He  was the first, and so far only, visitor I’ve had in South Africa, and we had a great time on holiday.  I loved enjoying some father-daughter time, and I know he did as well.  After that, I went back to the village for a few days, then embarked on a three week, cross-the-country-four-times whirlwind trip to facilitating two trainings and visit my site I will move to for my third year of service.  So many distractions, coupled with the demise of my old blackberry, led to several weeks of silence.  But now I’m armed with a new phone to post from, and plenty of things to write about!

Dad and I resting during our zipline adventure.
Dad and I resting during our zipline adventure.

The last few weeks of Lent continued to challenge me in new ways.  I’ve realized that my Lenten Journey was really just the start of a longer journey of faith, and how important it is for me to live intentional in my relationship with the Lord.  I also realized how easily I am pulled away, and know that I must work on that now more than ever.  Lent allowed me to understand the importance of intentional faith and purposely seeking out God’s will in my life, and this is something I will continue to work on.  I am grateful for the fellowship and encouragement of others who were traveling on this journey of Lent.  I am excited to go forward from here.

 

My life going to go through some major changes over the next month or two….pretty much turning upside down and inside out.  There will be many challenges to overcome, but I must trust that God has a purpose for these challenges and will help me through them.  I’ll soon be moving to a new village, where everything is different….language, culture, work, relationships, living conditions, transport, etc.  I am really looking forward to the move, but I know some things will be very hard.  I will be taking on a LOT more responsibility in my work, and I trying not to get too overwhelmed.  I’ll be working with village royalty, which is actually a big deal here, and must tread carefully to avoid offending the wrong people.  Any prayers are definitely welcome!  It’s a whole new world, which is a little scary, to say the least!  But I’m trusting in the Lord here, and I know He won’t let me down!

-Jen

Leave a Reply

