Faith

I am Loved, Forever

According to society, I should be sad today, for I am single. In fact, I have been single for every Valentine’s Day of my 24 years of life. I should be lonely, bitterly speculating where my knight in shining armor is, when my turn for love will come.

But I’m not.

In fact, today God filled me with inexplicable joy and happiness, and I kept noticing myself smiling. It’s the end of the week, and I have to travel tomorrow. It was a hot day, I was tired, and I am single. There was no “logical” reason for the joy I felt today.

Except….I am loved.

I am loved more than I can every imagine by the Creator of the universe. He has cared for me every second of my life. I have never, ever been alone. And today, I felt that. And at one point I was almost in tears-not of sadness, but of gratitude and joy. Of the knowledge that the King of Kings and Lord of Lords knows me, cares for me, and loves me infinitely.

How incredibly amazing is that?

I know there’s a reason for my singleness, and it’s not because there’s something wrong with me. It’s because God has a plan for me, and for now, that includes being single. Instead of moping around and becoming jealous of my friends who aren’t single, I am joyful for them. And I am fully content with where I am in life. In fact, if I was in a relationship, or married, I probably wouldn’t be living in Africa with the Peace Corps today. And if that hadn’t happened, I would not have found the passion I have for gardening and wouldn’t have discovered my God-Sized Dream. I would have missed out on something vitally important in my life and in my faith journey.

Don’t get me wrong, there have been times when I have let my insecurities take over, reducing me to wondering what was so horrendously wrong with me. But today, my insecurities have been drowned out by the Love of God. Whether I’m single until the end of my days, or find my true love tomorrow, I can rest in the knowledge that I am always loved and am never alone.

And you can too.
-Jen

Leave a Reply

