Faith

Giving Thanks for the Little Things

On my other blog, I spent the month of November giving thanks for some of the most important parts of my life, in honor of Thanksgiving. It was an interesting experience that allowed me to count the blessings in my life. Some were silly, minor things, but blessings nonetheless.

The thing is, thankfulness should be a part of our everyday lives. Of course, I say Grace for my food, or thank the Lord when He answers my prayers in the way I want Him to answer. But there are innumerable things that God blesses me with each day. Things that put a smile on my faces and calms my heart. And shamefully, I don’t think to say thanks for all the little things. Sometimes I don’t even notice them.

“Be joyful always; pray continually; give thanks in all circumstances, for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.”-1 Thessalonians 5:16-18 (NIV)

While on Twitter last week, I saw a link to this post called “The Power of Gratitude”. It spoke to me, and I grabbed an unused journal that night to be used for this exercise of being grateful. The essence of this post is to write 10 things each day I am thankful for, small as they may be. I’m sure if someone looked at my lists since last week, they would be concerned about my sanity. But my list has ranged from “Coriander seeds sprouting” and “had a great hammock nap” to “RAIN!!” or “Increased hunger for His Word”. I’ve noticed that in the 4 days I’ve done this, I’ve started noticing more things each day that have been blessings. I’ve started formulating the list each day as I go about my work.

“Devote yourselves to prayer, being watchful and thankful.”-Colossians 4:2 (NIV)

I’ve heard that doing such an exercise can be powerful and life-changing. I’ve noticed a difference in the past few days, and I am excited to see how this affects me in the coming year.

“Gratitude unlocks the fullness of life. It turns what we have into enough, and more…Gratitude makes sense of our past, brings peace for today, and creates a vision for tomorrow.”-Melody Beattie

If nothing else, this exercise is opening my eyes to the depths God’s love, mercy, and grace through the ways He chooses to bless me. And it reminds me to say “Thank you”.

“You turned my wailing into dancing; You removed my sackcloth and clothes me with joy, that my heart may sing to you and not be silent. O Lord my God, I will give you thanks forever.”-Psalm 30:11-12 (NIV)

I challenge you, my reader(s), to do the same. Let’s pay attention to the blessings in our lives together, and begin writing down what we are thankful for. Comment if you are in!
-Jen

Follow me on Twitter here!

One thought on “Giving Thanks for the Little Things

Leave a Reply

